On my way… by Marie

Keep holding on to what you love & enjoy the ride of life

It only takes 10 seconds of courage to change everything, or to start something that will.

Leave a comment

♪ You have more friends than you know…

Some who surround you,

Some you are destined to meet.

You’ll have more love in your life…

Don’t let go, give it time, take it slow,

Those who love you the most may need more time to grow ♪ 

Glee – You have more friends than you know

306118_308229072588606_267665013_n

I know what you think! ‘Another article about friendship, new friendships’. Well… yes! That’s it! But if we didn’t have our friends, we would be the poorest people on Earth! Who said it was money that made you rich or poor? I think your fortune can only be measured regarding the friends you have. Do you not agree?

So… 10 seconds, uh?! In other words ‘almost nothing’… but these 10 seconds may mean everything! Just think about it! Think about all those little things you can do in 10 seconds, all the things that can happen, and that can change absolutely EVERYTHING, that can be the sign of a new start, the sign of a new hope… or sometimes the end and annihilation of all your hopes and dreams…

It took me a bit less than 10 seconds to start a conversation with my ‘adopting British family’ when I first met them at the ferry port, less than 10 seconds to smile and say hello to my new ‘colleague’ (because it may be inappropriate to call the new assistant manager ‘my friend’ ^^), Caroline, on her first day of work, not even 10 seconds to send that tweet to Jamie to ask him for the interview, and it didn’t take me more than 10 seconds to know that these people will be my friends…

It often starts with a hello and a smile, and as one says it, “One smile can start a friendship. One word can end a fight. One look can save a relationship. One person can change your life”. And each of those previously cited people brought me something special; they don’t know each other but they at least have one common point… they touched my heart.

“Touching someone’s heart for a mere second can sometimes touch their soul for a lifetime.”

That’s what happened! I think you’re never really prepared when such things happen; you may also be scared but, in the same time, it feels really good (to know that you’ve just found a friend xxx)… maybe because when your heart’s touched by some people, you will quite never be the same again. Part of their life will live in you always. I know that’s what happened to me, that’s what I felt when I met them… So the only thing I really want to say right now is… ‘My dear British family, Caroline, Jamie… thank you for being part of my life now ;)’.

‘We have more friends than we know; some we are destined to meet’: that’s what the song says and it is simply true. Do you believe that? Well, I do. Look around you! Look well! You’ll see (for sure) all those persons who came into your life and who, one way or another, touched your heart & your soul so deeply that the only thing you wanted to give back to them was your friendship.

I know it will take me some time to start (but I think that bit’s already done actually ^^) & keep a very precious friendship with my ‘adopting family’, Caroline & Jamie because I don’t really live next door, if you know what I mean #Frenchgirl (even if I definitely intend to come back to England for good in less than two years)! But I want to be part of their life, as well as they’re kind of part of mine now. One often says, “If someone wants to be part of your life, they will be there. Don’t bother saving a spot for someone who won’t make an effort to stay”. And I can promise them that I will be there (I don’t think I’m the kind of girl, who let people down!), that I won’t give up on such a precious & great thing that is a friendship because I know that great things take time and even if it’s hard at the beginning, I won’t give up (I’m not narrow minded (or maybe a little bit ;p), I’m simply human!).

Thus, through this article, I’ve followed what my grandpa has always told me, “Always tell someone how you feel, because opportunities are lost in the blink of an eye but regret can last for a lifetime”. I know the people I mentioned in this post will read all this & therefore they will know how I feel…

As far as you’re concerned, my darlings, I would just like to tell you to follow your heart and to…

Keep holding on to what you love & to enjoy the ride of life 😉

And remember…

♪ It’s gonna be okay! You have more friends than you know…

Be brave, be strong, you are loved, you belong ♪

xoxo

Little words...

